The Crook Jaw Inn, built in the early 1800’s, is established on the National Register of Historic Places. The Crocker family were the first to live within its walls and E.W.Crocker’s initials can be seen in a large boulder at the rear of the property, chiseled with the date 1826. Before it was a bed and breakfast, it was referred to as the Crocker’s Cottage, even during the time that the last family, the Paine family, lived in the house. Since it was originally built, additions and renovations were completed by the families, but some of the original hardware and pine floors still remain today.
The Crook Jaw Inn was converted in 1985 into what it is today by a retired Catholic priest. He chose it’s unique name from a book he spotted in the Yarmouth Port library called Crook Jaw, retelling of the folklore surrounding Crook Jaw the whale, hunted by Ichabod Paddock.
We are proud to have celebrated our 30th anniversary last year in 2015 and look forward to many more years of excellent service, while embracing our historic past.